Tuesday, May 18, 2010

DC SLA 2010 Student Scholarships -- Application deadlines 7/16/10

The Washington, D.C. Chapter announces its 2010 scholarship program:
  • Catherine A. Jones Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by IOP Publishing $2,000
  • IOP Publishing Scholarship $2,000
These two scholarships will be awarded by the chapter in August 2010 for studies leading to a Master’s Degree from an ALA accredited graduate Library Science program.

DC/SLA encourages talented men and women to join us with a career in special librarianship by assisting students who are preparing for a Master’s Degree in Library Science. In support of this goal, the Washington, D.C. Chapter is offering two cash awards again this year:

Selection criteria include:
  • An essay describing the applicant’s interest in special librarianship and professional goals, including anticipated contribution to the profession (two – three pages, 1,000 – 2,000 words)
  • Letter of academic or professional recommendation
  • Membership in the Washington, D.C. Chapter of SLA (If you aren’t a DC/SLA member yet, SLA student dues are only $40 per year. Join today at http://www.sla.org/content/membership/joinsla/index.cfm. Remember to choose the Washington, D.C. Chapter on your SLA membership form.)
  • Enrolled or accepted in an ALA-accredited Library Science program
The scholarship application form and additional details are available on the DC/SLA website at http://units.sla.org/chapter/cdc/yp/scholarship.html.

Application deadline: July 16, 2010.

No comments:

Post a Comment